Watch LIVE: CHANDRAYAAN 2 Landing on Moon

Launched on 22nd July 2019 from Satish Dhawan Space Centre, Chandrayaan 2 will be a historic landing for India on the South Pole of the moon around 1.40am IST on September 7th. Indian Prime Minister Mr. Narendra Modi along with 60 students selected from across the country will witness the landing procedure right from ISTRAC ISRO Centre in Bengaluru.

The Indian government approved the mission in a meeting of the Union Cabinet held way back on 18 September 2008 and chaired by the then Prime Minister Manmohan Singh. The design of the spacecraft was completed in August 2009, with scientists of both countries India and Russia conducting a joint review.

More than 300 journalists from around the globe have gathered at ISTRAC (ISRO Telemetry Tracking and Command Network) to witness the landing procedure. If India makes a successful landing, we will become the first country in the world to land on the south pole of the moon, and the fourth overall after USSR, China, and US to land on the moon. Get an understanding here:

ISRO is dealing with lunar dust which is very fine and also electrically charged so that it sticks to any surface. CHANDRAYAAN – 2 has three components – orbiter, lander and rover. Once the space vessel reaches the Moon, the orbiter will enter into orbit around the satellite. The orbiter will then continue revolving around the Moon for a year, performing various experiments to study the satellite’s outer atmosphere.

Indians and space explorers are very excited about this launch and have already started greeting ISRO and the supporting teams across social media platforms. PM Modi has urged Indians to watch the special moments of Chandrayaan-2 descending on Moon. If this is successful, it will be a very historic day for India!

If you also want to catch the action live, you can do so from here too. Streaming has already begun on most channels, while some channels will begin live telecast at 1am IST on 7th September’s morning. Watch and enjoy:

Register on Howzat using the code “READ1234” to avail a FREE bonus of INR 50 which you can use to play in fantasy cricket contests.

Sign-up to Howzat fantasy cricket | Read Scoops

See also: