CSK Release Three Players Ahead of IPL 2019

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have named their squad changes for the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 season. England pacer Mark Wood is one among the 3 players that were released by the franchise. The first trading window of IPL is ending on November 15 and each franchise had to inform the IPL governing council about their retained and released players before the ending date.

Two uncapped players, Kshitiz Sharma and Kanishk Seth, complete the release list of CSK ahead of the IPL 2019 Auction which is reported to be on December 16 in Goa. Wood played just a match in IPL 2018 before heading back home to prepare for England’s home summer. On the other hand, Kshitiz Sharma and Kanishk Seth didn’t play a single game in the concluded 11th edition of IPL.

Chennai Super Kings release three players head of IPL 2019 auction

CSK, for IPL 2018 season, drafted in David Willey as a replacement for injured Kedar Jadhav. Willey went on to play 3 matches for CSK in that season and CSK are happy to retain him for the upcoming IPL 2019 edition as well. Check out three tweet after the announcement was made:

“We have really valued experience. MS Dhoni and I are on the same wavelength that experience counts. We have a multi-skilled team in our ranks. That, to us, is very important as it gives us options throughout the course of the season. Around the world, the experienced players have always been consistent,” said Stephen Fleming, CSK Head Coach.

Chennai Super Kings led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni defeated Sun Risers Hyderabad by an 8-wicket margin in the IPL 2018 final to make their trophy count to three. After 11 editions of IPL, only Mumbai Indians have won as many titles as CSK in this tournament. Kolkata Knight Riders (twice), Rajasthan Royals, Deccan Chargers and SunRisers Hyderabad won the remaining five IPL titles till date.

Keep reading ReadScoops.com for similar updates on IPL 2019.


Read more:

About Phaneendra Varma 146 Articles
Fan of Cricket. Devotee of Sachin. Follower of the Cricket game since 2003 World Cup!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.