KKR Release Players Based on IPL 2018: CEO

Besides releasing Mitchell Starc, Kolkata Knight Riders have made many other releases from their IPL 2018 squad. Mitch Johnson who announced his retirement from all forms of game earlier this year is also one among the released players. India’s Vinay Kumar who was very expensive last season is one of the notable releases by this franchise ahead of the IPL auction.

Cameron Delport, Tom Curran and Javon Searles are the other overseas players released by KKR on Thursday (Nov 15). Curran and Searles were very expensive in the last season with the ball while Cameron Delport did not even get a single game. Venky Mysore, CEO of KKR, has clarified that the retention and releases are made completely based on how their season went in 2018.

Venky MYsore confirms KKR releases were based on IPL 2018 performances

Andre Russell and Sunil Narine were KKR’s only retained players ahead of last season and it’s no surprise that the two game changing all-rounders found a place in this 13-member retained list. Dinesh Karthik led them in the last season and he is expected to continue in the same position in the upcoming edition as well.

Australian pacer Mitch Starc has revealed to Aussie media that he was informed about his release by the franchise via an SMS message. Narine, Russell and Chris Lynn are the only 3 overseas players in Kolkata’s squad at the moment. They have 12 slots available in their squad which had to be filled with 7 Indian players and 5 overseas players.

Retained Players: Dinesh Karthik, Robin Uthappa, Chris Lynn, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Shubman Gill, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna, Shivam Mavi, Nitish Rana, Rinku Singh, Kamlesh Nagarkoti.

Released Players: Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Johnson, Tom Curran, Cameron Delport, Ishank Jaggi, Vinay Kumar, Apoorv Wankhede, Javon Searles.

Keep reading ReadScoops.com for similar updates on IPL 2019.


Read more:

About Phaneendra Varma 146 Articles
Fan of Cricket. Devotee of Sachin. Follower of the Cricket game since 2003 World Cup!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.