MI Releases 10 Players Before IPL 2019 Auction

Ahead of the IPL 2019 Auction, KKR released quite a few players based on their performances in the last season. SRH too, released a few, but retained former captain David Warner. Similar, Rajasthan made squad changes but decided to retain Aussie batsman Steve Smith. Among all these changes was the unpopular decision of KXIP releasing Yuvraj Singh among other players for IPL 2019.

Mumbai Indians too, are not too far behind in the number of player releases ahead of the IPL 2019 auction. They have released 10 players which include the likes of Pat Cummins, Mustafizur Rahman and JP Duminy. Apart from those three players, Sri Lanka’s Akila Dananjaya is the only overseas player released by the franchise.

In case you aren’t aware, Dananjaya has been reported for suspect bowling action in Sri Lanka’s ongoing Test series against England. Mumbai Indians bought Pat Cummins last season but he was ruled out of the entire 11th edition without even playing a single game. And with Cricket Australia’s latest announcement, this release was always on the cards!

Mustafizur and Cummins are among those released by Mumbai Indians for IPL 2019

Meanwhile, Adam Milne who replaced Cummins last season has been retained along with their favourite pacer, Mitchell McClenaghan. MI have retained their core group of players that are with the franchise and contributed for their successful run over the past few years. Spinner Mayank Markande who had a great outing in the last season is also among the 18 players retained by the franchise.

Quinton de Kock, Kieron Pollard, Evin Lewis, Ben Cutting, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne and Jason Behrendorff are the 7 overseas players in Mumbai’s current squad. They still have 7 slots available out of which 6 are to be filled with Indian players and a single slot for an overseas player.

Mumbai Indians became the first team in IPL history to win three titles when they defeated Rising Pune Supergiant in the 2017 edition final. They won three titles in the years 2013, 2015 and 2017. And fans across social media are anticipating that they are going to win their fourth title in IPL 2019!

Retained Players: Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Mayank Markande, Rahul Chahar, Anukul Roy, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Evin Lewis, Kieron Pollard, Ben Cutting, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Jason Behrendorff.

Released Players: Saurabh Tiwary, Pradeep Sangwan, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh, Sharad Lumba, Tajinder Singh Dhillon, JP Duminy, Pat Cummins, Mustafizur Rahman, Akila Dananjaya.

Traded Players: Acquired Quinton de Kock from Royal Challengers Bangalore in an all-money trade.

Keep reading ReadScoops.com for more updates from the cricketing world.


Read more:

About Phaneendra Varma 146 Articles
Fan of Cricket. Devotee of Sachin. Follower of the Cricket game since 2003 World Cup!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.