Must-win Game Awaits New Zealand in Dubai

Pakistan held their nerve to defeat New Zealand (NZ) in the 1st T20I of the series in a close finish two days ago in Abu Dhabi. With the victory, Pakistan is now leading the 3-match series by a margin of 1-0 and all of sudden New Zealand find themselves in a do-or-die situation.

This is always the case with a 3-match series – lose the first match and you will find yourselves in a position of danger! The 2nd T20I of the 3-match series between Pakistan and New Zealand will be played at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium in Dubai. Play is scheduled to start at 9:30pm IST (8pm local time).

Pak v NZ

As a matter of fact, New Zealand’s only T20I win in UAE has come at the same venue when they beat Pakistan by a margin of 17 runs in the year 2014. And they just need to produce another win at the same venue on Friday (Nov 02) to remain alive in the series.

Having opted to bat first in the 1st T20I, Pakistan once again got to their magic team total – around 150 – and put NZ under pressure with the ball. Credit must go to the experienced Ross Taylor to take the chase right to the last delivery of of the match. Colin Munro too batted really well and contributed with a fine half century at the top.

Coming to the changes for the 2nd T20I, Pakistan might stick with their winning combination while New Zealand might come up with a change. Corey Anderson’s lean patch continues in the T20 format – he was ineffective in the 1st T20I with just 9 runs and also struggled against Pakistan A in T20s before the start of the ongoing series against Pakistan. What are your views? Leave your comments and let us know.


Pakistan: Babar Azam, Sahibzada Farhan, Asif Ali, Mohammad Hafeez, Sarfraz Ahmed(w/c), Shoaib Malik, Faheem Ashraf, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Fakhar Zaman, Hussain Talat, Usman Khan, Waqas Maqsood

New Zealand: Colin Munro, Glenn Phillips, Kane Williamson(c), Colin de Grandhomme, Ross Taylor, Corey Anderson, Tim Seifert(w), Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi, Ajaz Patel, Mark Chapman, Lockie Ferguson, Seth Rance.

Keep reading for similar updates on the New Zealand tour of Pakistan.

Read more:


About Phaneendra Varma 146 Articles
Fan of Cricket. Devotee of Sachin. Follower of the Cricket game since 2003 World Cup!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.