NZ Add Anderson, Phillips for Pakistan T20I series

New Zealand (NZ) have added all-rounder Corey Anderson and Wicket Keeper Glenn Phillips to their squad for the 3-match T20I series against Pakistan which starts on October 31. With the inclusion of these two players, New Zealand’s squad for the Pakistan T20Is has now been complete.

“Corey and Glenn are in good form and have performed well in the local conditions over the past couple of weeks. They obviously bring plenty of firepower, but their versatility will also give the squad the desired balance,” said New Zealand selector Gavin Larsen. Remember, Martin Guptill was recently removed from squads for the limited overs leg of the tour, owing to injury.

NZ had earlier named their 11-member squad for the Pakistan T20Is and announced that two players from New Zealand A team will be selected into the squad. New Zealand A are currently in UAE and they completed playing a 3-match T20 series against Pakistan A last Wednesday (Oct 17).


Pakistan A and New Zealand A are currently playing a three match unofficial ODI series. Both Corey and Phillips are expected to play the remaining two unofficial ODIs of the series before joining the New Zealand national T20I squad for the 3-match series. Anderson last played for New Zealand during the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy (semi-final against Bangladesh) in England and was since then ruled out owing to back surgery last year.

“It’s obviously been a long road back and after the surgery there were some long tedious days. But this is what the rehab is for and to be picked again is a great feeling,” said Anderson. In the unofficial T20Is against Pakistan A, Phillips was the highest run-getter with 126 runs. Hussain Talat (104 runs) of Pakistan A was the only other player to score over 100 runs in this series. On the other hand, Corey Anderson had a quiet T20 series against Pakistan A – 38 runs with the bat and just a wicket with the ball.

Pakistan are set to play a three match T20I series against Australia starting from October 24 to October 26. Once this series got over, Pakistan will prepare themselves for this 3-match T20I series against New Zealand. The three T20Is between Pakistan and New Zealand will be played at Abu Dhabi (Oct 31) and Dubai (Nov 02 & Nov 04).

New Zealand squad for Pakistan T20Is: Kane Williamson (c), Corey Anderson, Mark Chapman, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Seth Rance

Read more:

About Phaneendra Varma 146 Articles
Fan of Cricket. Devotee of Sachin. Follower of the Cricket game since 2003 World Cup!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.