Pakistan Pick Unchanged Team for 3rd NZ Test

National selectors of Pakistan on Tuesday (Nov 27) announced an unchanged squad for the 3rd and final Test match against New Zealand (NZ). After such a thumping win against NZ in the 2nd Test in Dubai, no one would want to tinker with the winning combination and Pakistan just followed that principle.

Hosts Pakistan crushed New Zealand by a margin of an innings and 16 runs at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium in Dubai in the 2nd Test match to level the 3-match series courtesy a match-winning spell from Yasir Shah. His 14 for 184 (8-fer in the 1st innings and 6-fer in the 2nd innings) in Dubai is the second best bowling figures for a Pakistan bowler in this format of the game.

Pakistan named unchanged team for 3rd test against New Zealand
Image courtesy: CricTracker

“The National Selection Committee headed by Inzamam ul Haq after consultation with Captain Sarfraz Ahmed and Head Coach Mickey Arthur has retained the 15-member Test squad for the third Test match against New Zealand. The third Test match will be played in Abu Dhabi from December 3 to 7, 2018,” said PCB’s media release.

Yasir was also adjudged as the ‘Player of the Match’ in the 2nd Test match in Dubai. Earlier, the visitors made a miraculous comeback in the 2nd innings in Abu Dhabi to win the 1st Test of the 3-match series. Both teams will now head back to the same venue in Abu Dhabi to play the series decider starting on December 3.

Pakistan wrist spinner Yasir Shah now has 195 wickets against his name in the 32 Test matches he has played in his career. He needs to pick up 5 more wickets in his next 3 Test matches to become the fastest to 200 wickets in this format of the game. Clarrie Grimmett of Australia is the current holder of this record which he achieved in the year 1936 against South Africa!

Pakistan Squad for third Test against New Zealand: Mohammad Hafeez, Imam-ul-Haq, Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Babar Azam, Saad Ali, Sarfraz Ahmed (c & wk), Yasir Shah, Bilal Asif, Mohammad Abbas , Hasan Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Shaheen Afridi, Mir Hamza.

Keep reading for more updates from Pakistan vs New Zealand 2018.


Read more:

About Phaneendra Varma 146 Articles
Fan of Cricket. Devotee of Sachin. Follower of the Cricket game since 2003 World Cup!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.