RR Retain Steve Smith Ahead of IPL 2019 Auction

Rajasthan Royals have retained a 16-member squad for the upcoming IPL 2019 edition. They have released as many as 10 players from their squad going into the 12th edition of the tournament. Steven Smith who is currently serving a 12-month ban is among the retained players. Ben Stokes, Steve Smith, Jos Buttler, Jofra Archer and Ish Sodhi are the other overseas players in their squad at the moment.

Jayadev Unadkat who was bought at a whopping price in the IPL 2018 auction has now been released after an awful show in the last season. In his 15 games in 2018, Unadkat picked up just 11 wickets. D’Arcy Short, Ben Laughlin, Heinrich Klaasen, Dane Paterson, Zahir Khan and Dushmantha Chameera are the released overseas players and that has to do with their poor performances in the last season.

Steven Smith has been retained by Rajasthan ROyals for IPL 2019

Rajasthan Royals who made an entry to the IPL 2018 after a two-year gap made it to the qualifiers under the leadership of Ajinkya Rahane. With the return of Smith, the leadership role is expected to be given back to the Australian. “The results in the previous season have been impressive and that is why we have decided not to disturb the balance of the squad,” said Zubin Bharucha, head of cricket of Rajasthan Royals.

Rajasthan Royals have 16 members in their squad at the moment leaving 9 slots available for the upcoming IPL 2019 auction in December. The franchise has to pick 6 Indian players and 3 overseas players to complete their squad to fill their remaining 9 slots. Earlier today, we also reported the heart-breaking news of Yuvraj Singh being dropped from the KXIP squad.

Retained Players: Ajinkya Rahane, Krishnappa Gowtham, Sanju Samson, Shreyas Gopal, Aryaman Birla, S. Midhun, Prashant Chopra, Stuart Binny, Rahul Tripathi, Ben Stokes, Steve Smith, Jos Buttler, Jofra Archer, Ish Sodhi, Dhawal Kulkarni, Mahipal Lomror.

Released Players: D’Arcy Short, Ben Laughlin, Heinrich Klaasen, Dane Paterson, Zahir Khan, Dushmantha Chameera, Jaydev Unadkat, Anureet Singh, Ankit Sharma, Jatin Saxena.

Keep reading ReadScoops.com for similar updates on IPL 2019.


Read more:

About Phaneendra Varma 146 Articles
Fan of Cricket. Devotee of Sachin. Follower of the Cricket game since 2003 World Cup!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.