Who will win the Caribbean Premier League?

They call this league the biggest party in sport, and I can’t disagree with them. The Caribbean Premier League may not be the richest or biggest professional T20 league across the globe, but it surely is the most fascinating, exciting and entertaining tournament for cricket fans. CPL T20 Season 6 is now here!

Between 8th August and 16th September 2018, six teams will battle it out to win the CPL 6 trophy and the prize money that comes with it. If you remember well, Trinbago Knight Riders won the previous edition of the CPL and they began their season with a win in the opening match of the tournament as well.

The Knight Riders, along with Jamaica Tallawahs, have won four of the previous five editions of the CPL T20 (2 each), making them the most successful teams in the tournament so far. I would be very happy if another team wins this year, but these two seem to have pretty strong sides this year as well.

One team that has never done well in this tournament is St. Kitts and Nevis Patriots, and we don’t really know why. With a destructive opening combination of Evin Lewis and Chris Gayle, quick starts and big scores are often expected. They’ve also added the young mystery spinner Sandeep Lamichhane to their side while the all-rounder trio of Ben Cutting, Tom Cooper and Anton Devcich from the Australias add a lot of experience to the squad. However, their miseries continue in the CPL, having lost their 2018 opening game to Guyana.

The Guyana Amazon Warriors will be captained by Shoaib Malik this year and while they did win their first game rather easily, one would certainly feel skeptical with the average age of this team. Malik himself is way past 36 years of age, opening batsman Luke Ronchi is 37, strike bowlers Rayad Emrit and Imran Tahir are 37 and 39 respectively, while a few others are also in their thirties.

The Barbados Tridents have always been one of the best teams in this competition, but they had a few set backs this year with Junaid Khan and Shakib al Hasan withdrawing from the tournament. However, they would’ve been mighty pleased to welcome Steven Smith into their team, who is making his CPL debut as he is currently serving a 1-year ban from international cricket.

We’re leaving it in your hands to decide which franchise team looks to be the strongest and who you think will be lifting the trophy in mid September 2018. Cast your votes right away:

Read more:

About Dwayne Fernandes 739 Articles
Indian. 23. Management Graduate. Huge cricket fan. Twitter and Instagram - @dwayneeeboy

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.