Women’s World T20 2018 Group A Teams

The Women’s World T20 (WWT20) 2018 will be played in West Indies this year and has been scheduled to start on November 09, 2018. A total of 10 teams are participating in this tournament which, divided into two groups with five teams each. Bangladesh Women, England Women, South Africa Women, Sri Lanka Women and West Indies Women are placed in Group A while Australia Women, India Women, Ireland Women, New Zealand Women and Pakistan Women form the Group B.

World T20

Here is a brief introduction of the Teams in Group A:

Bangladesh Women:

Bangladesh will be led by Salma Khatun in this mega tournament. It has been a great year for them as they defeated India in the Women’s Asia Cup finals to win their maiden Asia Cup title. They are in good form in this format this year and will want to take their winning run in to the WWT20 2018 tournament.

Squad: Salma Khatun (c), Rumana Ahmed, Jahanara Alam, Fargana Hoque, Khadija Tul Kubra, Fahima Khatun, Ayasha Rahman, Shamima Sultana, Nahida Akter, Panna Ghosh, Ritu Moni, Sanjida Islam, Nigar Sultana, Lata Mondal, Sharmin Akhter.

England Women:

England have included three uncapped players, Kirstie Gordon, Linsey Smith and Sophia Dunkley in their 15-member squad for the Women’s World T20. Sarah Taylor will not feature in the tournament due to her anxiety issues. Heather Knight will lead them in this tournament while hard-hitting openers Tammy Beaumont and Danielle Wyatt will take up the batting mantle.

Squad: Heather Knight (c), Katherine Brunt, Sophia Dunkley Brown, Sophie Ecclestone, Natasha Farrant, Kirstie Gordon, Jenny Gunn, Danielle Hazell, Amy Ellen Jones (wk), Natalie Sciver, Linsey Smith, Anya Shrubsole, Lauren Winfield, Danielle Wyatt, Tammy Beaumont

South Africa Women:

Pacer Shabnim Ismail and wicket-keeper Trisha Chetty have been named in the South African squad for this major ICC tournament. Fast bowler Ayabonga Khaka, who is still recovering from her shoulder surgery, was not considered for selection. South Africa fared well under the leadership of Dane van Niekerk in the Women’s ODI World Cup in England and they will want to continue their form in ICC tournaments.

Squad: Dane van Niekerk(c), Chloe Tryon, Lizelle Lee, Sune Luus, Shabnim Ismail, Masabata Klaas, Mignon du Preez, Marizanne Kapp, Laura Wolvaardt, Zintle Mali, Robyn Searle, Tumi Sekhukhune, Saarah Smith, Trisha Chetty

Sri Lanka Women:

The 17-year-old all-rounder Kavisha Dilhari has been included in their squad for the upcoming Women’s World T20. Dilhari made her ODI debut earlier this year and played a vital role in helping Sri Lanka end a streak of 10 successive ODI losses to India Women. Captain Chamari Athapaththu was the lone performer for Sri Lanka in the recent Women’s ODI World Cup and she needs her team to support her this time in West Indies.

Squad: Chamari Athapaththu (c), Nilakshi de Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Ama Kanchana, Sugandika Kumari, Eshani Lokusuriyage, Dilani Manodara, Yasoda Mendis, Hasini Perera, Udeshika Prabodhani, Inoshi Priyadharshani, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Shashikala Siriwardene, Rebeca Vandort, Sripali Weerakkody.

West Indies Women:

West Indies are coming into this tournament as defending champions and they have named as many as 11 players from their Women’s World T20 2016 winning squad. Windies Women Stafanie Taylor was the Player of the Series in WWT20 2016 tournament and much to her delight, the 2018 edition will be played in West Indies!

Squad: Stafanie Taylor (c), Merissa Aguilleira, Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilia Connell, Britney Cooper, Deandra Dottin, Afy Fletcher, Sheneta Grimmond, Chinelle Henry, Kycia Knight, Hayley Matthews, Natasha McLean, Anisa Mohammed, Chedean Nation, Shakera Selman.

Keep reading ReadScoops.com for more updates on the 2018 Women’s World T20.

Read more:

About Phaneendra Varma 146 Articles
Fan of Cricket. Devotee of Sachin. Follower of the Cricket game since 2003 World Cup!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.