Women’s World T20 2018 Group B Teams

The Women’s World T20 (WWT20) 2018 will be played in West Indies this year and has been scheduled to start on November 09, 2018.. A total of 10 teams are participating in this tournament, divided into two groups with five teams each. Here’s our preview of the five teams in Group A. Bangladesh Women, England Women, South Africa Women, Sri Lanka Women and West Indies Women are placed in Group A while Australia Women, India Women, Ireland Women, New Zealand Women and Pakistan Women from the Group B.

World T20

Here is a brief introduction of the Teams in Group B:

Australia Women:

Australia have recalled their opener Nicole Bolton to the T20I format who was considered as an ODI specialist in the recent past. Jess Jonassen has also been included in the squad but her availability in this mega event is subject to her fitness. Selectors also named the same squad for the ongoing limited overs matches against Pakistan Women in Malaysia.

Squad: Meg Lanning (c), Rachael Haynes, Nicole Bolton, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Delissa Kimmince, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Elyse Villani, Tayla Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham, Nicola Carey.

India Women:

India dropped all-rounder Shikha Pandey to include Pooja Vastrakar who is returning from a ankle injury. Pandey is the only player to miss out from the India’s Women’s T20I squad that recently toured Sri Lanka for a five match T20I series. Also, Jhulan Goswami announced her T20I retirement just before the Sri Lanka tour and as a result India are going into this mega tournament with less experience in the bowling department.

Squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana, Mithali Raj, Jemimah Rodrigues, Veda Krishnamurthy, Deepti Sharma, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Anuja Patil, Ekta Bisht, Dayalan Hemalatha, Mansi Joshi, Pooja Vastrakar, Arundhati Reddy

Ireland Women:

Ireland have included uncapped player Celeste Raack to their squad for this mega event. Apart from the inclusion of Raack, there are no big surprises as the squad boasts their regular players in this format of the game.

Squad: Laura Delany (c), Kim Garth, Cecelia Joyce, Isobel Joyce, Shauna Kavanagh, Amy Kenealy, Gaby Lewis, Lara Maritz, Ciara Metcalfe, Lucy OReilly, Celeste Raack, Eimear Richardson, Clare Shillington, Rebecca Stokell, Mary Waldron

New Zealand Women:

New Zealand have named an unchanged T20I squad that toured England and Ireland recently. The only change in their team is with respect to the team captaincy – Amy Satterthwaite has been named as captain in this tournament as their regular captain Suzie Bates stepped down recently. As many as six spinners were picked in their squad for this tournament in West Indies!

Squad: Amy Satterthwaite (c), Suzie Bates, Bernadine Bezuidenhout, Sophie Devine, KE Ebrahim, Maddy Green, Holly Huddleston, Hayley Jensen, Leigh Kasperek, Amelia Kerr, Katey Martin, Lea Tahuhu, Jess Watkin, Anna Peterson, Hannah Rowe.

Pakistan Women:

Pakistan named an unchanged squad that recently whitewashed Bangladesh in the three match T20I series. Only surprise in their squad is that they are yet to name their captain of the side. Their regular captain Bismah Maroof is injured and has been left out of the squad for this tournament.

Squad: Aiman Anwer, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Ayesha Zafar, Diana Baig, Javeria Khan, Muneeba Ali, Nahida Khan, Nashra Sandhu, Natalia Pervaiz, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sana Mir, Sidra Ameen, Sidra Nawaz.

Keep reading ReadScoops.com for more updates on the 2018 Women’s World T20.

Read more:


About Phaneendra Varma 146 Articles
Fan of Cricket. Devotee of Sachin. Follower of the Cricket game since 2003 World Cup!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.