Anup Kumar to Lead U Mumba in Pro Kabaddi 2017

Team: U Mumba (MUM)U Mumba
Owner: Unilazer Sports (Ronnie Screwvala)
Captain: Anup Kumar
Coach: Bhaskaran Edacherry, Ravi Shetty

The Ronnie Screwvala sponsored Mumbai outfit can be called as one of the most powerful teams of Pro Kabaddi League since its inception. In the first season they lost a close match against Jaipur Pink Panthers but in the very next season they took the revenge to claim the Pro Kabaddi League 2015 title.

In Season 3, they were again runners-up losing to Patna Pirates in the final by just 3 points. Season 4 didn’t go well for them and had to end their journey at 5th position in the league table.

Captain cool Anup Kumar along with coach Bhaskaran Edacherry and Ravi Shetty have been the strength of U Mumba since the Pro Kabaddi inauguration.

Let’s take a look at the squad in different sections:


Anup Kumar U Mumba

Anup Kumar the captain is the lead raider of the team. This Arjuna Awardee player is also called as “Bonus ka Badshah” or “Bonus King”. With the inclusion of Kashiling Adake and Shabeer Bappu back in the team they are the best attacking side this year!

The other raiders that U Mumba have are Darsan, Mohan Raman G and Nitin MadaneB.



The reason why U Mumba finished 5th last season is because they gave away too many points in defense and this year again they have a very weak defense line up. D Suresh Kumar (Right Cover) and Joginder Narwal (Left Corner)  will play a key a role in U Mumba defense.

The other defender U Mumba have in their squad are Deepak Yadav (Right Cover), Surender Singh (Right Cover) and N. Renjith (Right Corner).

All Rounders


Hadi Oshtorak (Iran) and Kuldeep Singh the two best all rounders who played for Patna Pirates in the last two season were bought in the auction by U Mumba. These two players will have the responsibility to provide strength in the defense and bag some crucial points when needed.

The other All Rounders option for U Mumba are Dong Ju Hong (Korea), E Subash, Shiv Om, Yong Joo Ok (Korea)

With the best attacking side and weak defense, it will be a tough challenge for U Mumba and Anup Kumar to claim the 2017 Pro Kabaddi title.

Also Read: Pro Kabaddi 2017 Auction summary.

Buy Puma Agility IDP White Running Shoes from Snapdeal