Pro Kabaddi League 2017: Four New Teams

Kabaddi a contact team sport that originated in Indian Subcontinent, Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) is a franchise based professional Kabaddi League played in India. Founded in 2014, 8 teams played in Inaugural edition of Pro Kabaddi League.

Some details about Pro Kabaddi League (PKL):
Organizer: Mashal Sports
Founders: Mr. Anand Mahindra (Mahindra Group), Mr. Charu Sharma (Mashal Sports)

Mashal Sports have acquired rights from International Kabaddi Federation (IKF) to organize this league for a period of ten years and they also have option to renew it further. VIVO has been signed as title sponsor for next 5 years

Pro Kabaddi League

Four new teams in Pro Kabaddi 2017

After successful 2 years including 4 seasons of Pro Kabaddi, the organizers have decided to include 4 new Kabaddi teams. With this Pro Kabaddi has now become the biggest sports league in India, A total of 12 teams representing 11 Indian states. Organizers are thinking to add 6 more teams next season taking the total down to 18 teams.

Team Tamil Nadu

Official Name: Tamil Thalaivas
Owners: N Prasad and Sachin Tendulkar

Thalaivas co-owner legendary Sachin Tendulkar recently announced Team Tamil Nadu’s official name as Tamil Thalaivas (@tamilthalaivas). Many of us taught that the team name would have been Tamil Nadu Blasters after Sachin’s Kerala Blasters in ISL but Tamil Thalaivas sound better, After all Thalaiva means “BOSS“!

Team Gujarat

Official Name: Fortune Giants
Owners: Adani Wilmar Limited – Adani Group

Adani Group is Asia’s leading Agri-Business group with over 450 manufacturing plants spread in almost 53 countries. Fortune in their name, we wish them GOOD LUCK!

Team Uttar Pradesh

Official Name: UP Yoddha
Owners: GMR League Games Private Limited – GMR Group

GMR group is one of the fastest growing infrastructure group in India. GMR group has been a franchise owner of Delhi Daredevils which is a part of biggest cricket league in the world. We hope atleast UP Yoddha make their franchise proud!

Pro Kabaddi UP Yoddhas

Team Haryana

Official Name: Haryana Steelers
Owners: JSW Sports Private Limited – JSW Group

JSW sports private limited is a sports division of a multi-dollar JSW Group. JSW Sports offers Sports Excellence Program that is currently supporting 39 athletes and they also own India’s best football club Bengaluru FC. Steelers is perfect name as it matches with franchise business profile

More to come on Pro Kabaddi, watch this space and follow us on our social network!


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.